Recently separated Coast Guard veteran demanding changes in how the Coast Guard handles rape cases.

druidwinter:

Women are not privileged for getting raped, end rape culture.

Originally posted on My Duty to Speak:

I was separated from the Coast Guard because I reported a rape.

I am not ready to share my story.  I do want to share these four concerns that I feel should be addressed by the Congress.

1. I was forced to pay out of pocket to attend my own Article 32 hearing. I was eventually reimbursed but I was given a hard time when I requested to be reimbursed and had to tell 3 people why I was traveling.  One questioned me on why the Coast Guard should pay for a personal matter.  Apparently you have to be rich to bring forward any charges against a rapist in the Coast Guard. Unless you are sitting on a pile of cash forget about having your parents or anyone there to support you.

2.  The retaliation was worst than the rape.  Almost everyone from an E-2 to an O-7 called me a…

View original 244 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

